Virtual Vegan Potluck: Frozen Brownies

The time has finally come… the most anticipated virtual vegan event of the year is here: The Virtual Vegan Potluck. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, click here to find out more, but be sure to come back to check out my recipe for frozen brownies, the perfect summer treat!

For those of you who are visiting my little piece of the internet for the first time, thanks for checking out Herbivoress! My name is Siri and I’m a student, organizational enthusiast, math nerd, and (most importantly) a vegan. I’m extremely honored and excited to be a part of this potluck and I hope you make and enjoy my recipe!  For a little more info about me, check out my About page, and feel free to head over to my Recipes page for tons of vegan recipes.

Now onto the main event…

 I was first introduced to the idea of frozen brownies about four years ago by my boyfriend, Mark. They’re a favorite of his and as soon as it gets warm out, his mom always stocks the freezer with them. One problem though: they’re not vegan. So now that Mark and I are happy healthy vegans, I knew that I would have to veganize these yummy (yet slightly unhealthy 😉 ) treats.

Mark will be returning from a four month trip abroad TOMORROW, so I knew that it was fate that I make these brownies to surprise him and to supply readers with an amazing summer dessert! They aren’t technically brownies– they’re actually more like a cake when not frozen, covered in delicious silky chocolate frosting that melds in perfectly with the cake beneath it! So without further ado…

For the Cake:

  • 1 C Earth Balance
  • 1 C Water
  • 1/4 C Cocoa Powder
  • 2 C All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 C Turbinado Sugar or Evaporated Cane Juice
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 C Tofutti Better than Sour Cream

For the Frosting:

  • 1/2 C Earth Balance
  • 1/4 C + 2 Tbsp Vanilla or Original Almondmilk
  • 3 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 3+3/4 C Powedered Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (about 175 degrees Celsius) & grease a 9×9 inch baking pan. In a large saucepan, melt the Earth Balance. Add in the water & stir in the cocoa powder, and bring this mixture to a boil. Remove it from the stove, and in a separate bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, & salt. Add this to the cocoa powder mixture and mix well. Add in the Better Than Sour Cream & stir until dissolved and all ingredients are well combined. Pour into your greased baking pan and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Meanwhile, make your frosting*…

While your cake is baking in the oven, rinse your saucepan & put it back on the stovetop. Melt the Earth Balance and add in the almondmilk & cocoa powder once melted. Bring this mixture to a boil and then remove from the heat. Whisk in the powdered sugar & vanilla extract and continue to mix until no lumps remain.

Once your cake is done, remove it from the oven and pour the warm frosting over the cake. Let cool completely. Once cooled, place the pan in the freezer for about half an hour. Remove the pan from the freezer, and cut the cake into bars.

Place your brownies onto wax paper, cover with another layer of wax paper, and then wrap in tin foil.

Return them to the freezer and leave them for at least an additional 4 hours, overnight if possible.

Store them as is in the freezer and whenever you crave a cold treat, just grab one and enjoy!

*Note: You will want to wait about 10 minutes after you put your cake in the oven to start the frosting.

Thanks for stopping by! If you liked this recipe, be sure to check out some my most popular recipes by clicking on my Recipes tab at the top of the page, like the Herbivoress page on Facebook, and follow @Herbivoress on Twitter!

Now go enjoy the rest of the recipes in this gigantic potluck!

To start at the beginning, click here.

To go backward to Go Bake Yourself, click here or click the “go back” button below.

To go forward to Lindsay is Vegan, click here or click the “go forward” button below.

        

38 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Frozen Brownies

  1. These brownies are incredible 😀
    I was planning initially to make them forthis event but glad now I didnt 🙂
    I am putting this link through to go forward on from my blog – I have posted mine up if you want to put the back link for the chain 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. This is genius, I LOVE cold sweets..I make brownies all the time and have to wait until the next day to really enjoy them because I don’t like them warm! I love this recipe!

  3. It seems like a crime that I never even thought of putting brownies in the freezer before reading this post, but now that I have I can’t wait to try it out. Plus, I love that your name is Siri! Is your background Scandinavian by any chance?

    Can’t wait to explore your site some more.

    Love, B

    • You have to try it.. it will change your life 😉 and YES I’m Norwegian on my mother’s side! Thanks so much for your kind words!

    • Thanks so much you’re too sweet! I’ve been exploring yours all day! 😉 love it! Thanks so much for checking out my little piece of the blog world!

  4. I love it when recipes have basic ingredients AND lokk/ sound delicious… I have everything for this on hand….I just might have to do this today!! looks amazing!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Funday | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a comment