Morning Millet Energy Bowl

I started my day off with my 2 mile run this morning! It went surprisingly well. Only complaint– anytime the weather is below 70 or 75 F, my throat and lungs become painful. Any tips on how to help this? After my run, my stomach was growling so loud I could hear it over my radio in the car on the way home. The solution? A huge, filling (and healthy!) breakfast.

This breakfast is one of my go-to’s. It’s relatively no-fuss and can be thrown together the night before and reheated in the microwave with ease. I use millet, but any grain would do– try quinoa or barley if you like those better. The thing I like about using millet is that I can either cook it with less water, giving it more of a grainy, quinoa-like texture, or I can add more water and stir it as it cooks, making a creamy, comforting bowl.

  • 1/4 C Uncooked Millet
  • 1/2 C Water (for creamier Millet, use 3/4 C)
  • 1 Tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1 Heaping tsp Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Banana, sliced
  • Fruit of choice for topping

In a small saucepan, combine millet and water. Bring to a boil, then cover and turn heat down to a simmer. Cook until water has been absorbed, about 15-20 minutes. 1/4 C of Millet will yield 3/4 C once cooked.

In a cereal bowl, add the chia seeds to the millet.

Mix well to combine and add the coconut oil.

Once millet and chia seeds are coated in coconut oil, mix in the cinnamon and drizzle the vanilla over top.

Finally, mix in the sliced banana and top with your choice of fruit. I used blueberries here, but peaches and nectarines make fantastic mix-ins and compliment the cinnamon perfectly.

If you like, pour 1/4 C of Non-Dairy milk over the millet, but it’s just as delicious without.

This breakfast clocks in at around 450 Calories without any Non-Dairy Milk. It’s perfect for those days when you know you won’t have time to eat lunch anytime soon.  It has about 10 g of protein and you get your healthy fats and omega-3’s from the coconut oil and chia seeds. Not only that, but it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

