An Update & An Easy, Delicious Summer Appetizer

Well, it certainly has been a while, hasn’t it? A lot has been happening over the past couple of weeks and almost every day I said to myself, “I think I’ll do a post today!” … But of course, things got in the way and I now have about 15 drafts of various posts sitting around, most of which will probably never see the light of day.

Mark got back from Italy about three weeks ago and I’m so happy he’s back!  On top of getting acclimated to having him around again, I’m LOADED with school work and am drowning a little bit 😉

Lately, I’ve been doing a horrible job with eating. I either make processed & easy meals when I’m in a hurry, or bake a cake when I have free time. (whoops.) So yesterday, I went to Whole Foods alone and spent a good hour and a half there, picking out veggies and getting some bulk stuff. Does anybody else love spending time at the food store? It’s my stress relief, I swear. Concentrating on all that fresh and colorful produce just takes my mind off of things! But the point of all this is that I am revamping my diet. I need to get re-inspired about food and nourishing my body!

I’m participating in OhSheGlows’ #SaladADay Challenge for the month of June, and you should too. It’s a great way to kickstart eating healthy!

On an unrelated note, I have a super easy and delicious appetizer recipe that is great for summer get-together’s.

Mark & I absolutely love this combination and have it at least a few times a week for lunch or a snack. It’s a great finger food for a summer barbecue or pool party, and the avocado makes it a light and refreshing choice.


  • Ten 1/2-inch slices of a crusty baguette
  • 1 Ripe Avocado
  • 1 Tomato
  • 1 Package of Tempeh Bacon
  • Vegenaise
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

Preheat your oven to 350 and place the sliced baguette into the oven. Cook until crisp and browned, about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, in a greased frying pan over medium heat cook six pieces of tempeh bacon, following instructions on packaging.

 Halve your avocado & scoop out the pit. Peel the halves and slice the meat of the fruit– about six slices per half, and then cut eat slice into two. Slice your tomato into ten thin slices. If your tomato is not large enough for this, make five slices and halve each slice.

Once your crostini are nice and crisp, remove them from the oven and spread each with a thin layer of Vegenaise. Top with two thirds of a tempeh bacon strip, a tomato slice, and two pieces of avocado. Add a dash of salt and pepper & serve.

2 thoughts on “An Update & An Easy, Delicious Summer Appetizer

  1. Yum! This looks fantastic and your pictures are beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I’m glad I came across you on here – your blog is great! I get excited when I find another veg blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

