Teese Cheese & A Recipe

Daiya– this past year has been great. You were super helpful in transitioning to veganism, but I’m sorry to say that I’ve found someone else. It’s Teese. New to Whole Foods in my neck of the woods, this amazing invention, in my opinion, trumps Daiya in almost every way. I don’t feel guilty when I read the ingredients list on Teese, and it’s flavor and texture are perfect for mac & cheese and grilled cheese sandwiches. I’ve only tried the cheddar variety so far, but it is to die for. 

On a completely unrelated note, the weather in PA is brisk today! I made a huge smoothie for breakfast and gave up after a few sips as it was too cold! I had to put on thick socks and a sweater & I made myself a laaaarge cup of tea. And what’s a girl to do on a cold day with a craving for comfort food? Enter Mac & Teese.

makes two servings

  • 2 Serving of Pasta of Your Choice, Cooked & Drained
  • 1″ Slice of Teese Cheddar Vegan Cheese
  • 4 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast
  • 1/2 C Unsweetened, Unflavored Non-Dairy Milk (Rice Milk probably would not be a good choice here)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

In a small saucepan, heat the Non-Dairy Milk on low heat. Mix in the nutritional yeast until no clumps remain. Using a fork or whisk makes this easier.

Cut the slice of Teese into small chunks and add them to the saucepan, stirring constantly until the cheese has melted. This may take a few minutes.

Once the Teese has melted, add salt and pepper and continue to cook down on low heat until it becomes thick and creamy. Pour over pasta, and, if desired, add other mix-ins. I used peas here, but broccoli or lightly sauteed spinach would be great too.

Depending on the type of milk you use and whether or not you add veggies, this dish has about 500 Calories. To make it a lower-calorie meal, only have half a serving of the Mac & Teese and amp up the veggies!

2 thoughts on “Teese Cheese & A Recipe

    • I hadn’t heard of it either– my Whole Foods just started carrying it about 3 weeks ago. It’s AMAZING– if you try it let me know what you think! 🙂 They also have a mozzarella flavor and a nacho cheese flavor.

Leave a Reply

