Creamy Guacamole with a Kick

This past week has been pretty rough on me. About two weeks ago, I got home from London and the next day my grandfather passed away. Because of all of the commotion surrounding his death, I didn’t have time or room in my head to miss Mark or think about the fact that I just had to say goodbye to him yet again. This week though, it crept up on me. I thought that I was doing fine and that I just went straight back to how I had been right before I left for London– immune and almost happy. However, I realize now that that is definitely not the case. I’ve been overwhelmed with sadness from not only missing Mark, but also missing my grandfather. The combination of these two blows to the heart has taken a toll on me both emotionally and physically. I haven’t had much of an appetite, and I when I do, I eat everything in sight (as long as it’s vegan!) But I also am just feeling really down. I know that all I need to do is get my tush to spinning and everything will get sorted out, but I’m struggling to get out of bed in the morning, let alone get myself out of the house and all the way to the gym 😉

The one thing that has helped me keep my head above water is my drive home from work every day. This week, we have had beautiful 75 degree weather in Philly. I roll my windows down, open my sunroof, and blast feel-good music. Having the warm wind on my face is, oddly enough, what’s been getting me through this. I’ve been working on starting my gratitude lists again, and every day this week I mention the weather and driving with my windows down. For some reason, that’s what helps. Speaking of beautiful weather…

To me, nothing says summer quite like avocado and tomato. When the sun gets hot and the days are long, I find myself snacking on this combination almost every day. So when I saw that the forecast for this week was full of sun and 70 degree weather… I knew what I had to do.

Guacamole is one of the easiest dishes to whip up, with only a few ingredients and many of them household staples.

Creamy Guacamole with a Kick

Ingredients:

3 Avocados

1 Large Tomato

A 1″ Thick Slice of Red Onion

1 tsp Lime Juice

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Begin by prepping your vegetables– slice the avocados, dice the tomato, and chop the onion.

In a mixing bowl, mash avocado with a fork, leaving a few chunks. Add onion, tomato lime juice, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and mix until combined.

The red onion adds beautiful color and a kick of flavor that compliments the avocado well.

Gaucamole is an extremely versatile dish and can be served many ways (my favorite of which is straight from a spoon.)

Try it spread on bread or scooped up with chips and salsa.

PS– Check out my new Facebook page! You can like it straight from my sidebar, or head over to my profile and check it out there!

9 thoughts on “Creamy Guacamole with a Kick

  1. Your guacamole pictures are stunning! Its going to be in the 70s again in Chicago and guac sounds sooo perfect for today, and I love the red onion in your recipe! Same with the lime juice, I usually use lemon but I”ll have to try out the lime next time!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your loss- hang in there! I find watermelon or mango has the same effect as guacamole- happiness 🙂

Leave a comment