Operation Get Fit; An Introduction

The issue:

As I mentioned in my post about revamping my fitness routine, I’ve fallen off the wagon in terms of making exercise (and eating healthy) a habit.

The solution:

Operation Get Fit. It’s time to kick my tush (and yours– if you choose to participate) into gear. OGF is my initiative to plan workouts and meals week by week, and to follow them with diligence. Expect less recipes like this and more like this and this. But don’t think I’ll be giving up sweets all together– not to worry, they will certainly make their appearances (everything in moderation!) when necessary. I’ll be letting you know what I’ve been eating and each morning will post my workout for that day. Check out my first round of foods and fitness below, along with some general rules of the game!

  • Drink at least 8 glasses of water every day
  • Have 1 glass of lemon water first thing each morning
  • When eating bread, choose Ezekiel or another sprouted grain bread
  • No late night unhealthy snacking
  • Sweat at least 5 times a week
  • Limit processed foods (ie Daiya, Earth Balance) as much as possible
  • Up the amount of fruits and veggies significantly

What I ate, Tuesday 9/18) Breakfast was a veggie sandwich– two slices of toasted Ezekiel Bread spread with hummus and topped with 1/4 of an avocado, sliced baby carrot, cucumber, spinach, and onion. For Lunch, I made a giant green smoothie. Into the blender went 1 C baby spinach, a banana, 1 C of frozen strawberries, and 1/2 C Earth Balance Chocolate Almond Milk. I drank half right away and half while I cooked dinner. And lastly, for Dinner I had a stuffed pepper, which you can expect to see a recipe for in the near future. After dinner, I snacked on some pita chips with hummus.

Workout, Wednesday 9/19Run 2 Miles at an easy pace. Afterwards, do Yoga for Runners.

One thought on “Operation Get Fit; An Introduction

Leave a Reply

