Starting Over with Fitness Goals

Whenever there are big shifts happening in my life, I usually get the itch to start over. Not with everything, but certainly I view a changing environment as the perfect opportunity for a fresh beginning. Such changes are happening with me now– I just finished my last term of the year in school and will be starting my second full-time internship next week. Currently, I’m in the middle of a two week break, and it has given me tons of time to figure out what I want a “do-over” for. First on the list? Exercise.

I moved back in with my parents (serious adjustment) about a month ago, and it made it easy to skip the gym. But no more excuses.

So here’s the plan.

The Plan:

  • Yoga 3-4 times per week
  • Run/Cardio 3-4 times per week
  • BodyPump/ Spinning once or twice over the weekend @ the gym

and so far so good. Today, I did yoga (this video, to be exact), and while it wasn’t challenging and I didn’t work up a sweat, it was just what I needed today. I’m so sore from yesterday (this, this, and this) that a solid 25 minutes of stretching was all I could handle. However, getting into the habit of setting time aside to focus on my wellness is what this is really all about.

As for the goals behind the rules? I absolutely need to increase my flexibility. Not being able to touch my toes is getting old. I want to get to a place where running isn’t a chore. Right now, I huff and puff my way through a painful two miles and want to keel over as soon as I’m done. But mainly, I want to wake up every day knowing that I am my best self, and that only happens when I am in shape and taking care of my body.

Other things I’m doing over? I’m revamping my diet and de-cluttering everything. More on that later, though.

Leave a Reply

