White Bean Hummus with Rosemary & Oregano

Today at work, one of my co-workers admitted to me that she has never had hummus. I didn’t know there was anyone who has never had hummus.

Last week at Trader Joes, they had a few new products– including a White Bean Basil Hummus. While I have had hummus (about a million times) before, I’d never thought of making hummus using anything other than chick peas– and what makes this dip a “hummus” rather than just white bean dip is the addition of tahini, a sauce made from sesame seeds that’s indicative of hummus.

So, when I found a can of White Cannellini Beans in my cabinet, I whipped out my food processor and got to work.

White Bean Hummus with Rosemary & Oregano

Inspired by Trader Joe’s White Bean Basil Hummus

Ingredients:

1 Can Cannellini Beans

1/4 C Tahini

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Clove Garlic

2 Tbsp Dried Rosemary

1 tsp Oregano

Drain and rinse cannelini beans.

Add the beans and tahini to a food processor and blend until smooth. Mince the garlic and add it to the mixture along with the olive oil, rosemary, and oregano.

Blend until well combined and warmed.

This hummus is great spread on warm bread.

The rosemary and oregano combine with the olive oil for an amazing “hummus experience.” I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little kick.

2 thoughts on “White Bean Hummus with Rosemary & Oregano

Leave a Reply

