Good Morning Fuel Muffins

The past two days have been an absolute whirlwind. I came home from London on Saturday night and passed out almost as soon as I walked in the door. The next morning, my mom woke me up and told me that her dad was in the hospital. We spent all day at the hospital yesterday, we said our good-byes, and he passed away last night. The mood in my parents’ house is extremely sad, as it should be. My grandfather brought so much light into our lives and I will miss him dearly.

To me, baking is stress-relief. It warms up the kitchen, sends delicious smells though the whole house, and keeps my mind off of other things.

I wanted to make a muffin that I can take with me to work in the morning and that will get me through most of the morning. These Good Morning Fuel Muffins have fruit, vegetables, flax, and oats.

Good Morning Fuel Muffins

Makes 8 Muffins

Ingredients

1 1/3 C Flour

1/4 C Sugar

1/4 C Brown Sugar

1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Salt

2 Tbsp ground flaxseed

6 Tbsp water

2/3 C Canola Oil

1 tsp Vanilla

1 Large Crisp Apple, Peeled, Cored, and Diced

1/2 C Golden Raisins

1/2 C Grated Carrots

1/2 C Chopped Walnuts

1/4 C Oats

Preheat your oven to 350 and grease a muffin tin. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. In a smaller bowl, combine flax and water and mix well until a paste forms. Add oil and and vanilla and stir. Pour wet ingredients in the dry ingredients and mix until well combined. Add in apple (I used a pink lady apple), raisins, carrots, walnuts, and oats and mix well.

The mixture will be extremely thick and lumpy. Using a spoon, transfer the mixture to a muffin tin, filling all the way. I filled mine about half an inch above the rim, as these do not rise much.

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. They are done when the edges are browned and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

If you want, you can sprinkle sugar overtop of them when they come out of the oven.

I can’t wait to try them in the morning with half a grapefruit for breakfast!

They’re not too sweet, but if you want them to be even less sweet, you could easily use less sugar, as the apple provides just enough sweetness on its own.

One thought on “Good Morning Fuel Muffins

Leave a Reply

