Tempeh Mash Stuffed Mushrooms

My monday was spent playing Seven Words on my phone (if you don’t know what it is… look it up at your own risk. it’s highly addictive!) and listening to the Jimmy Buffet station on Pandora. Something tells me I’m ready for summer…

One of my favorite winter meals, however, is stuffed mushrooms. I never had them until Mark’s mother made them for us a few years ago, and ever since, I’ve been hooked. Normally, I make them the day after some meal that has stuffing involved– Thanksgiving, for example. They’re delicious with stuffing and some gravy poured over top, but today I was looking for a little twist for my stuffed mushrooms.

And there, in the back of my fridge, I found it. Tempeh. For those of you who have never tried tempeh or don’t know what it is, I urge you, let this recipe be your first impression of tempeh. Tempeh is fermented soy, and when cooked correctly is delicious– tempeh bacon, anyone?

Tempeh Mash Stuffed Mushrooms

Makes two servings

Ingredients:

6-10 Stuffing Mushrooms, depending on size (mine were rather small)

1 package of Tempeh

1 Quart Water

2 Cloves of Garlic, minced

1/2 tsp Onion Powder

1 tsp Oregano

2 Tbsp Breadcrumbs

1-2 C Vegetable Broth

Bring a quart of water to a boil and add tempeh, in chunks to the water. Let cook at a rolling boil for ten minutes. Spoon tempeh out of water and lay on a paper towel to dry.

Once cool enough to touch, place tempeh into a bowl and mash. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Add minced garlic, onion powder, and oregano, and continue to mash until combined. Add breadcrumbs and mix in.

Prep mushrooms by removing any stems. Place top-down in a baking dish, and begin to fill with stuffing.

Pack in as much stuffing as you can, piling it high.

Once mushrooms are stuffed and in your baking dish, pour veggie broth over the mushrooms. You want the bottom half of the mushrooms to be covered by broth, so the amount you use will depend on the size of your mushrooms and the size of your pan.

Bake at 350 for 25 to 30 minutes, until mushrooms are tender and stuffing is lightly browned.

Even if you don’t like tempeh, this stuffing is still amazing. I myself am not the biggest tempeh fan… but I do love stuffing. And if you really don’t want to risk it with the tempeh, these would be almost as good with plain ol’ stuffing 😉

I had about five small mushrooms for myself, and with some vegetables on the side it was a perfect sized dinner.

I also whipped up some simple gravy and poured it over top!

These are going to become a regular staple dinner in my kitchen, that’s for sure!

I hope you had a great Monday!

One thought on “Tempeh Mash Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

