Orange Ginger Tofu

So you may have noticed a few changes around here… I thought it was time to up my image 😉

I skipped the gym today, and while it makes me disappointed in myself, I really needed the break. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that it’s not even nine pm yet. Foregoing the gym meant one very important thing– I had tons of time to cook!

My hypochondriac grandmother has a saying for when you don’t feel well but can’t quite put your finger on what’s ailing you: an undercurrent.

Though when this word is normally used, it’s coming from a place of craziness, today it is the only way to describe how I’m feeling. My throat doesn’t hurt, my nose isn’t running, I just feel like I’m coming down with something. Cue the citrus fruits! What better way to incorporate that all-important OJ into my dinner than a marinade?

Orange Ginger Tofu with Orzo, Spinach, Brussels Sprouts, Squash, and  Onion

makes two servings

Ingredients:

1/2 a Block of Extra Firm Tofu

1/4 C Orange Juice

1 tsp Ground Ginger

1/8 tsp Garlic Powder

1/8 tsp Onion Powder

4 Brussels Sprouts

3/4 C Orzo

1 C Raw Spinach

1/4 of an Onion

1/2 a Yellow Squash

Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper

Slice Tofu into four 1/4 inch slices and press for 20 minutes.

While the tofu is pressing, make your marinade. Combine orange juice, ginger, garlic powder, and onion powder, and mix well with a fork until murky and no clumps remain.

Marinate tofu for half an hour. Preheat oven to 375 and grease a baking sheet. Cook orzo according to package instructions. In a frying pan, heat olive oil. Cut brussels sprouts in half, chopping off the ends.

Cook on low heat, covered, watching carefully for 8 minutes, until browned on flat side. Add chopped onion and squash, and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.

Add spinach, cover, and turn off heat. Let sit for 5 minutes. Bake tofu for 25 minutes at 375, then flip, pour extra marinade on, and cook for 10 to 15 minutes more. Tofu should be lightly browned and slightly crispy.

Once done, pile a plate with orzo, vegetables, and tofu, and drizzle with any leftover marinade.

This is a really light meal, perfect for when your appetite is curbed by an “undercurrent” (or just one too many mango smoothies 😉 )

One thought on “Orange Ginger Tofu

  1. oh this looks delicious! I’m going to have to try this out! the pictures look great and it sounds delicious. I need to get some more tofu.

Leave a Reply

