Portobello Tempeh Wrap

Today was a good day! Normally, that wouldn’t be so exciting, but seeing as I’ve been trying so hard to stay positive, I feel like this deserves some serious (self)recognition. A lot of the stressors in my life seem to be sorting themselves out, and I’m actually feeling excited and *gasp* happy for the first time in a while. This is what it’s all about, people!

I went to spinning today, and it was the first time that I didn’t give myself a day to rest in between classes. Within the first five minutes of class, my legs felt like they were turning into cement, but I took that as a good sign. It showed me just how hard I’ve been pushing myself! After twenty minutes, my legs felt fine, but I’m definitely feeling it now! I’m supposed to spin again tomorrow… three days in a row! Wish me luck 😉

Maybe my good mood has to do with the copious amounts of chocolate currently in my possession… 

This candy bar is from Whole Foods, and costs an arm and a leg. But I am lucky enough to have the best boyfriend in the world who not only left me with 17 presents while he’s off in Italia, but left me expensive vegan chocolate. Lots of it. So today I tried the above candy bar… it’s like a vegan Snickers Bar… only better. I actually felt guilty eating this thing because it is so good. I felt like I was cheating on my veganism! But it’s truly vegan (I checked several times) and I still have a vegan “Milky-Way” and “Almond Joy” to stuff my face with tomorrow!

 Soooo good 🙂

I also got to catch up with a friend who I’ve fallen out of touch with in the last couple of months, and I had an amazing wrap for dinner!

Portobello Tempeh Wrap

Ingredients:

1 Whole Wheat Wrap

1/2 Cup Raw Baby Spinach

1 Portobello Mushroom

2 Strips Tempeh Bacon

1/2 Small Zucchini

1/2 Slice of Red Onion

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Slice the portobello into strips and sauté in a frying pan on low heat in olive oil and balsamic (to taste). Add tempeh bacon slices, and slice the zucchini and add to the frying pan once mushrooms are near done. Meanwhile, toss the spinach onto the wrap, and add the chopped slice of red onion. Once mushrooms, tempeh, and zucchini are all browned, add to the wrap and roll.

I threw this meal together last minute. Wraps are perfect because you can throw almost anything in them and it will taste good.

This particular wrap was perfect for me today. I’ve been having slight tummy issues (probably because of all the chocolate currently available to me…) and wanted a light and veggie-full dinner. The onion added crunch and I’m obsessed with tempeh bacon. If you’ve never had it before, invest in some and throw it on a sandwich with a slice of tomato and half an avocado. You will wish you had discovered the joys of tempeh bacon years ago.

Hope that you got off to a good start to your week!

One thought on “Portobello Tempeh Wrap

Leave a Reply

