Sweet Potato Curry Bean Burgers

I had an extremely up-and-down three day weekend! I got to Skype with Mark a few times, and hearing his voice is the best feeling ever! I also got to open my fifth present (I get a present every Monday that Mark left for me before he left… I am so lucky) and it was a ton of vegan candy bars and chocolates… I think he’s trying to get me fat! I also got to spend a lot of time with my family this weekend. My extended family on my mom’s side came to my parents house for the night on Saturday and it involved lots of wine and dancing to motown… a successful night! On top of that, though, I’ve still been struggling a lot with my anxiety and am having a lot of roommate troubles. I live with three other girls and two of them are wonderful, but the other has no respect for the rest of us. It’s starting to become a real issue (aka world war III is currently going on in our house) and I’m trying to stay out of it because I feel like the added stress would not be good for me.

I’m apologizing in advance for this week’s posts: I did not organize myself before going grocery shopping this weekend so anything that get’s posted on here will have been thought up on a whim (except for carrot cake… coming soon!) I did, however, find something spectacular at the store.

Saying, “goodbye” to nutella was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do 😉

Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter is a lot less sugary than traditional Nutella, but I actually prefer this stuff! It has a nutty flavour with a hint of cocoa, and has a much less “frosting”-like texture. However, this stuff has quite the price tag on it and I’ve made vegan nutella from scratch before (recipe forthcoming!) that tastes about the same.

But I do have an amazing recipe for you now! Mark had emailed me a recipe that he’s been cooking a lot that I’m sure will make it up here at some point, but my roomie and I decided to modify it and came up with…

Sweet Potato Curry Bean Burgers

Ingredients:

1 Sweet Potato, peeled and shredded

1 can of Garbanzo Beans, drained and rinsed

1 Can Lentils, drained and rinsed

1 Cup Baby Spinach

Curry, to taste

Olive Oil

Flour

In a large bowl, roughly mash lentils and chick peas. It’s fine to leave some whole beans in here– it shouldn’t been a completely smooth paste.

Combine mashed beans, spinach, and shredded sweet potato. Mix in your curry (our’s consisted of curry powder, garlic powder, ginger, and dill) and combine until everything is well coated.

Coat your hands with flour and form the mixture into burger patties. We got about five patties out of this batch. Preheat a frying pan with a light layer of olive oil, and once hot, place a few burgers at a time into the pan on low heat.

Cook for 5 minutes on each side, covering with a lid once you carefully flip the burger for the first time. This ensures that the sweet potato will cook through and that the center of the burger will cook as well. These tend to fall apart slightly, so just reshape once you flip them.

Serve however you desire! I put mine on half a burger bun with a little tahini and garlic chili sauce, but these are delicious served on top of basmati rice.

If you only need a few burgers, make however many you need and store the rest of the mixture in the fridge to prep for leftovers- these keep really easily and you just have to cook for a little longer since the ingredients aren’t at room temperature.

Hope you had a great weekend! Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Curry Bean Burgers

Leave a Reply

