chik’n pomodoro panini

The weather in Philly has been incredible lately. The fact that it’s 60 degrees in January is slightly concerning, but I can’t complain. When the weather starts to look like spring, I always crave smoothies. For breakfast, I made an incredible smoothie with raspberries, my Amazing Grass Amazing Meal Chocolate Protein Powder, a banana, and soymilk.

After my energizing breakfast, I headed to Whole Foods (with a full stomach.. very important!) and picked up my food for the week.

For lunch today, I knew I wanted something savory and warm, so I decided on a panini.

Chik’n Pomodoro Panini

adapted from Corner Bakery‘s Chicken Pomodoro Panini

Ingredients:

2 Slices of Sandwich Bread
1 tsp Vegan Pesto
1 tsp Vegenaise
1/8 to 1/4 C of Roasted Garlic Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1/4 C Raw Spinach
A few leaves of Fresh Basil
1 Tbsp Daiya Vegan Mozzarella
4 Gardein Chick’n Strips
Olive Oil to grease panini press

Prepare your chick’n strips according to package directions. You can use whichever brand you prefer, but Gardein are my personal favorite. While they are cooking, prepare the rest of your sandwich. On one slice of bread, spread your Vegenaise, and on the other, spread the pesto. Sprinkle one of the slices with Daiya, top with spinach, chopped basil, and the diced tomatoes. Once the chick’n strips are done, place them onto the sandwich.

Heat up your panini press, and once hot, pour on a small amount of olive oil and cook your sandwich for about 2 minutes, depending on the heat of your grill. You could easily make this without a grill or panini press. Just cook like you would a grilled cheese, covering on low heat to ensure the middle gets warm and the Daiya melts.

This panini is so good! It quickly disappeared…

This is one of those sandwiches that I keep coming back to. I’ll forget about it for a while, and as soon as I’m reminded I just have to have it. It’s serious comfort food.

For dinner I kept it simple with spinach pasta with… spinach!

I poured the hot pasta over raw spinach to steam it and then tossed it all in a teaspoon of earth balance with garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. Ten points if you can name the cookbook in the background. 😉

Leave a Reply

